About

The Hole is a contemporary art gallery run by Kathy Grayson. Opened July of 2010, our 3800 sq. ft. storefront on the Bowery borders the Lower East Side and NoLIta neighborhoods of Manhattan. The Hole presents monthly solo and group exhibitions with a focus on emerging art and thematic group exhibitions. We represent more than fifteen artists from America and abroad, and have exhibited over 200 more. Often two exhibitions run simultaneously in our space while works by gallery artists are available in our rear showroom.

In between exhibitions we host performances, events and special projects across disciplines to support collaboration and the downtown artist community.

Kathy Grayson  Owner/Director

Raymond Bulman _ Directorraymond@theholenyc.com

Julien Pomerleau _ Operations Directorjulien@theholenyc.com

Peter Tchelebi _ Bookkeeperaccounting@theholenyc.com

Hope Christerson _ Gallery Associate _ hope@theholenyc.com

Harley Smart _ Publications_ harley@anteism.com

Julianna Vezzetti _  Shop Manager _ shop@theholenyc.com

Fabiola Beracasa _ Creative Director _ fab@theholenyc.com
h
General inquiries:_ poke@theholenyc.com
 l
Hours: The Hole is open Wednesday – Sunday, 12-7pm and by appointment.
l

Location: We are located at 312 Bowery between Houston and Bleecker streets on Manhattan’s Lower East Side. The closest train stations are Bleecker Street 6 train and Broadway-Lafayette B, D, F, and M trains.

Phone: 212-466-1100

Submissions: Please email poke@theholenyc.com images and information about your work. Please do not mail or bring in artworks.

Internships: The Hole offers internships working closely with staff on all aspects of running and maintaining a contemporary art gallery. Internships generally require a commitment of three days per week for a minimum of three months. To apply please email cover letter and resume to poke@theholenyc.com with “Internship” in the subject line.

The Hole is proud to be part of the LES Galleries network, please find below some of our favorite art exhibitions within walking distance of our gallery:

The New Museum 335 Bowery 

Lehman Maupin 201 Chrystie Street

Sperone Westwater 257 Bowery

Salon 94 243 Bowery

Zurcher Gallery 33 Bleecker

Andrew Edlin 212 Bowery

11R 195 Chrystie

James Fuentes 55 Delancey

Canada 333 Broome

International Center of Photography Museum 250 Bowery